Bethlehem University


Bethlehem University (BU) is a Catholic co-educational university founded in 1973 by the Vatican and the De La Salle Christian Brothers. BU, the first university in Palestine, was established to offer higher education to meet the educational needs of the Palestinian society.

It is a member of the Palestinian Council of Higher Education and is fully accredited in Palestine.  The academic programs of BU are offered through five faculties and an Institute of Hotel Management and Tourism.






Undergraduate Programs


Faculty of Arts

  • Department of Arabic
  • Major: Arabic Language and Literature
  • Minors: Arabic, Translation, Journalism
  • Department of English
  • Major: English Language and Literature
  • Minor: French
  • Department of Religious Studies
  • Major: Religious Studies
  • Minor: Catechetic
  • Diploma: Religious Education
  • Department of Social Sciences
  • Majors: Sociology, Social Work
  • Minors: Sociology, Psychology


Faculty of Business Administration

  • Department of Business Administration
  • Major: Business Administration
  • Minors: Business Administration, Marketing
  • Department of Accounting
  • Major: Accounting
  • Minor: Accounting, Finance


Faculty of Education

  • Majors: Kindergarten, Primary Level, Teaching Arabic, Teaching English, Teaching History/Geography, Teaching Mathematics
  • Higher Education Diplomas in Methods of Teaching: Arabic for Secondary Level, English for Secondary Level, Civics for Primary Level, Mathematics, Science for Primary Level, Christian Religion


Faculty of Nursing and Health Sciences

  • Majors: Midwifery, Nursing, Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy
  • Higher Diplomas: Midwifery, Neonatal Nursing, Emergency Nursing


Faculty of Science

  • Department of Biology
  • Major: Biology
  • Minors: Biology, Medical Laboratory Science
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Major: Chemistry
  • Minors: Chemistry, Industrial Chemistry
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Major: Mathematics
  • Minor: Mathematics
  • Department of Computer Information Systems
  • Major: Computer Information Systems
  • Minor: Computer Information Systems
  • Department of Physics
  • Minor: Physics


Institute of Hotel Management

  • Major: Hotel Management
  • Diplomas: Hotel Management, Travel Agency Management, Tour Guiding


Graduate Programs

  • Masters in Cooperation and International Development (MICAD)
  • Masters in Biotechnology
  • Masters in Tourism Studies


Beginning with 112 students during its first year in 1973,  the enrollment of the University increased steadily reaching 1,000 in the Fall of 1981, over 2,200 by Fall 2000, and in the Fall 2012 semester enrolling more than 3,000 students.

The University is located on the highest hill in Bethlehem, eight kilometers south of Jerusalem. It is easily accessible by car or bus.



To carry out its mission in promoting research and serving the wider community, Bethlehem University has established several outreach programs:

  • Center for Advanced Studies and Research in the field of International Cooperation and Development
  • Hereditary Research Laboratory
  • Institute for Community Partnership
  • UNESCO Biotechnology Center
  • Water and Soil Environmental Research Unit
  • Cardinal Martini Leadership Institute
  • Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning
  • Abdel Rahman Zuroub Teachers’ Resource Center



More information for Erasmus Mundus Applicants: