An Najah National University


In 1918, An-Najah was established as a primary school educating students from Palestine and abroad. In 1941, it was named “An-Najah College”. In 1965 it becomes a teacher preparation institute, also granting intermediate university degrees in various fields of study.

In 1977, An-Najah evolved into a full-fledged university and joined the Association of Arab Universities (AARU) as a full member.


In 1981, An-Najah was accepted as a member in the World Union of Universities.

In 1997, The University signed an agreement with the Director-General of the UNESCO to establish the UNESCO Chair on Human Rights and Democracy. In the same year, the University launched the Arabic for Non-Native Speakers Program.

In 1999 The Faculty of Medicine was established in cooperation with Al-Quds and Al-Azhar universities and in 2008, The Faculty of Medicine was accredited as an independent faculty by the Palestinian Ministry of Education and Higher Education.


The University acquired the hospitals of Al-Zakat Committee in Nablus. The hospital buildings will be developed into a teaching hospital for students of medicine and nursing; the hospital will serve the entire northern West Bank region in cooperation with the Palestinian Ministry of Health.

There are currently 20,000 students enrolled within our four campuses; the New Campus, the Old Campus, Hisham Hijjawi College of Technology and Khadouri Campus in Tulkarem.



Following its strategy to offer the students a wide range of study fields, the University has 15 faculties located throughout the different campuses, offering 73 Bachelor Degree programs, 43 Master Degree programs, and the only two Ph.D. programs in Palestine, offered in Chemistry and Physics.


 The abovementioned programs cover study fields taught in the following faculties:

  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences
  • Faculty of Educational Sciences
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Fine Arts
  • Faculty of Agriculture
  • Faculty of Information Technology
  • Faculty of Shari’a (Islamic Law)
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Media
  • Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
  • Faculty of Physical Education
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
  • Graduate Faculty


Through its Faculty of Graduate Studies, An-Najah enables its students to pursue their higher studies choosing from a wide range of study disciplines as follows.


Master Programs in:

Physics Chemistry
History Biology
Applied Linguistics and Translation Mathematics
Jurisprudence and Legislation (Fiqh Wa Tashree) Computational Mathematics
Fundamentals of Islamic Law (Usul Al Din) Water and Environmental Engineering
Master of Business Administration Civil Engineering
Economic Policy Management Road and Transport Engineering
Political Planning and Development Architectural Engineering
Educational Administration Urban and Regional Planning
Curriculum and Methods of Teaching Teaching Mathematics
Teaching Mathematics Clean Energy and Conservation
Teaching Science Environmental Science
Teaching English Engineering Management
Public Law Public Health
Private Law Taxation Disputes
Nursing and Community Mental Health Animal Production
High Specialization in Medicine-Family Medicine Clinical Pharmacy
Physical Education Geography
Paramedics & Emergency Medicine Arabic Language and Literature
High Diploma Teaching English Language Plant Production and Protection
Women’s Studies Program  


































Offers two PhD programs in:

  • Chemistry
  • Physics

More information for Erasmus Mundus Candidates: