American University of Beirut

The American University of Beirut (AUB), founded in 1866 as a private, not-for-profit, coeducational, independent, non-sectarian institution of higher learning, is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

AUB is a major university with over 7,000 students, including over 900 graduate students and 300 medical students.  The University has six faculties: Arts and Sciences, Medicine (including the School of Nursing), Engineering and Architecture, Agricultural and Food Sciences, Health Sciences, and the Olayan School of Business.

AUB offers over 110 programs leading to bachelor’s, master’s, PhD, and MD degrees. The University has eight Ph.D. programs which include Arabic Language and Literature, Arab and Middle Eastern History, Cell Biology, and Theoretical Physics in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences; and degrees in Civil, Environment, Mechanical, and Electrical and Computing Engineering in the Faculty of Engineering and Architecture. The University has nearly 2000 students who are of non-Lebanese origin; and currently maintains active agreements with over 4 dozen universities from around the globe.